Welcome to my blog

I’m a fantasy writer based in Derby, UK. I’ve just finished my first novel, The Heartland of the Winter, a young adult/crossover novel set in a land with extreme weather. It’s a coming-of-age story which explores the impact of the harsh climate on society, and the sacrifices people are willing to make for their loved ones. While it’s definitely a fantasy novel, I’ve tried to steer clear of the elves-and-dragons angle in favour of a story driven by recognisably human characters. It’s currently being read by my wonderful and dedicated beta readers, once they give their feedback I will polish it up and my aim is to get it out to at least one agent by the end of this year. In the meantime, I’m launching this blog to share with the world some of my short fiction and my thoughts on writing and any other topics which spring to mind. I’m going to try to update the blog at least once a fortnight (which might not sound terribly often, but I do work full-time as well as writing, and I like to set achievable goals) Your comments are very welcome. If you like my blog, why not follow me on Twitter @ruthdehaas

Thanks

Leave a Reply

