As another year draws to an end…

This is my end of year blog post. I’m writing it ahead of schedule for 3 reasons:
1) In case the world ends tomorrow. YOU NEVER KNOW.
2) If the world doesn’t end, so I can relax over the Christmas break and not worry about keeping my blog up-to-date.
3) I’ll be away from my main computer for the next two weeks and I don’t altogether trust the rickety old laptop my husband inadvertently melted by leaving it in the sun.
So, what’s happened to me in 2012? The answer is, quite a lot actually. I moved house. I turned 30, and took the opportunity to reflect on where I am now (Derby) compared to where I thought I might be (not Derby). I got married. I finally finished the novel I started four years ago, ‘The Heartland of the Winter’. And I got some very encouraging feedback on the book, not all of it from my mother. In other words, it’s been a pretty big year. In fact, it’s been a transformation. From scrounging lodger to home-owner, from 20-something to 30-something, from Miss to Mrs, from aspiring author with a half-finished novel to aspiring author with a completed novel, some new-found confidence, and a blog. And now that 2012 is nearly over, how do I feel? Tired. But happy.
I’m looking forward to having a break, getting in some physical and mental recuperation before heading into the new year. What does 2013 have in store? Nobody knows. And I’m not going to worry about it. Right now, I have more important things to think about, like sorting out mulled wine for a party tomorrow.
I’ll be back with further blogging action in the new year. In the meantime, Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

