What a fortnight!

Golly gosh wow, it’s been quite a fortnight. Since my last blog post, I have, in no particular order: been to Glasgow, had a tooth extracted, finished my novel again, gone on a very long and hungover walk in the Peak District, been very very busy with the day job, and had two bits of writing-related good news.

The first piece of good news is that I have won 3rd place in the Swanwick short story competition, details here: http://swanwickwritersschool.co.uk/news.asp?id=68&pgid=1

Swanwick is the summer school for writers which I went to last year and am attending again this August. The competition was for short stories on the theme ‘65 not out’ (because the school celebrates its 65th anniversary this year). Steering away from the obvious cricket reference, I tried to do something a bit different and, loosely inspired by someone I know, I wrote my tale in the form of a letter from a retired schoolteacher to one of her former pupils. ‘Dear Mary’ will be published in the Writing Magazine Competition Special October 2013. Congratulations to all the other winners, and hope to see you at Swanwick.

My prize is a year’s subscription to Writing Magazine, which isn’t quite as good as the 1st prize, (a free place at the summer school), but is a lot better than the proverbial slap in the face with a wet haddock. I’ve been entering a few competitions lately, and it’s great to have some success. Fingers crossed for those other competitions whose results are still pending…

The second piece of good news is more exciting, but I’m still just a little bit too paranoid that something is going to go wrong to want to broadcast to the world just yet. So it’ll just have to wait for a future blog post.

What next? Well, it’s 5 weeks until summer school starts, and if last year was anything to go by, it’ll be both inspiring and exhausting. Before then I have a busy schedule of work trips, visits to friends and family, barbecues, and a wedding. So I’m actually thinking I might give myself a little bit of a break from writing and try to recharge my creative batteries. But rest assured, I’ll be back on here to share any important news.

Leave a Reply

