Flash blog – exciting news!

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve had some exciting news brewing – and now that I’ve signed on the dotted line and it’s all confirmed, I can share it with the world. I am very, VERY happy to say that I am now represented by a literary agent – specifically, Meg Davis of Ki Agency.

I first met Meg at the Swanwick writers’ summer school in August 2012, nearly a year ago. I had signed up for a one-to-one session with her at the cost of £20 – which, it turns out, was perhaps the best-spent £20 of my life so far. To my surprise and delight, she really liked the first three chapters of my fantasy novel The Heartland of the Winter – and asked me to send her the rest. Of course, as previously chronicled here – https://ruthdehaas.wordpress.com/2013/01/24/the-heartland-of-the-winter-final-draft-version-2/ – the book needed quite a lot more work before it was ready to go anywhere near the light of day, and Meg’s advice helped me get it into shape. Then, a few weeks ago, I sent her the finished version -THoTW 2.0 (now with 10% more plot!). And the rest is history. Or rather, a lot of time spent trying to get my head around a) some scary-looking contractual language; and b) the concept that my book – MY BOOK – could soon be sitting in the inbox of an actual editor, at an actual publisher, together with a letter from an actual agent telling her it’s actually worth reading. Gosh.

I’ve been having a pretty manic time lately with both work and non-work, so I don’t think it’s quite sunk in yet. Life goes on much as before, with the difference that I get a big grin on my face whenever I remember that I’ve got that little bit closer to my dream. Of course there are no guarantees of anything: securing an agent does not necessarily mean I’ll go on to secure a publisher. But it’s a step in the right direction. A big step.

Heartfelt thanks to everyone who has helped me reach this point – I certainly couldn’t have managed to finish the book without all your advice, encouragement, support, beta-reading, proof-reading and the occasional cup of tea.

One thought on “Flash blog – exciting news!

  1. That’s simply wonderful news. Swanwick rules!

Leave a Reply

